Thursday, November 26, 2015
Search By Keyword
Breaking News Alerts
Email Alerts
Email Address
Text Alerts
Mobile Number
 )  - 
Mobile Provider
standard messaging rates apply
Municipal Elections See Many Candidates
8/19/2014 2:29:14 PM
Last Updated:
8/27/2014 3:50:21 PM

CARROLL COUNTY – McKenzie municipal elections for mayor and councilmen will have contested races for the mayor and each of the four council seats.

The qualifying deadline was Thursday, August 21 noon to be on the November 4 ballot in which state and federal candidates will appear allow with candidates for the municipalities of Atwood, Bruceton, Hollow Rock, Huntingdon, McKenzie, McLemoresville, and Trezevant. There will also be Constitutional Amendments at the state level and a referendum for wine in grocery stores in McKenzie.

In McKenzie, Mayor Jill Holland and former Mayor Walter Winchester both qualified for the four-year term as mayor of McKenzie.

In McKenzie’s Council Ward II, Raymond Glisson (incumbent) and David Hochreiter are seeking the four-year term.

In Ward III, Billy Barksdale (incumbent) and Cassie Allen have qualified for the four-year term.

In Ward IV, Teri King (appointed) and Kevin Gallimore have qualified for the two-year unexpired term of Dianna Lankford, who resigned and moved from the area.

In Ward V, Gene Hale (incumbent) and Dawn Ervin have qualifed to seek the four-year term.

In Bruceton, Mayor Robert “Bob” Scott and former Mayor Robert “Bob” T. Keeton, III are seeking the office of mayor.

Three persons are seeking the two aldermen seats. They are Steve T. Pinkston (incumbent), Robert R. Cole, and Jenna Young.

In Huntingdon, three incumbents are uncontested for the three at-large seats. Jeff Bailey, Melissa Powell, and John Sanders are all seeking re-election. There is no mayoral election this year.

McLemoresville’s Phil Williams, a McKenzie businessman,  has served as mayor of the city for 37 years. He is uncontested for another four-year term.

McLemoresville citiziens will elect five aldermen to serve four-year terms. Incumbents Angie Martin, Barbara Younger, and Don Reed are seeking reelection. They are joined in the race by Walter D. Earnhardt, Melanie T. English, Mike Presson, Jason Suratt, and Douglas Williams. Not seeking reelection are Harold Blow and Larry Elliott.

In Atwood, Mayor James Halford is uncontested in his bid for reelection. Jimmy Lewis and L.N. McNabb, Jr. are uncontested in seeking the two aldermen positions.

In Hollow Rock, Mayor Tim Runions is uncontested in his bid for reelection.

The election for the two aldermen seats are also uncontested. Incumbents Bobby Brotherton and Ernie Smothers are seeking reelection.

Appointed Trezevant Mayor Dennis W. Mitchell is seeking a two-year term to that office. Mitchell was appointed by the board to fill the unexpired term of Mike Mulligan until the November election.

Trezevant has seven candidates seeking five aldermen seats. They include Bobby Blaylock, Pamela Bryant, Phyllis Curtis, James Gilliam (former mayor), Teresa Goodrum, Deb Rogers, and Steve Traywick.  Blaylock, Bryant, and Curtis are currently serving on the board, as well as Nick Bryant and Matthew Walls, who are not seeking election.


Visitor Comments

Current Conditions
McKenzie, TN
Radar & More >>
click ad below for details
  • Show All Ads