Home - ePopulate - McLemoresville July 4th Parade

McLemoresville July 4th Parade

McLemoresville July 4th Parade



McLEMORESVILLE (July 4) — Warm temperatures and blue skies drew hundreds of residents and visitors to downtown McLemoresville for the town’s annual July 4 parade.

Festivities began with a parade down Main Street as participants displayed their patriotism in red, white and blue themed automobiles, ATV’s, Power Wheels, go-carts, bikes, pedestrians, and floats.

McLemoresville Mayor Phil Williams led the procession followed by Veterans Honor Guard of Parkers Crossroads.

The Honor Guard is comprised of Sherman Boyd, U.S Army, 19762004; John Churilla, U.S. Army, 1976-1991; Leonard Gant, U.S. Army, 1969-1980; Art Hemby, U.S. Marine Corps, 1965-1969; Jeff Segraves, U.S. Army, 1969-1985; Gwen Hayes, U.S. Air Force, 1969-1980; Brent Middleton, U.S. Navy, 19841998 and Keith Ivy, U.S. Army, 1982-1990.

Parade winners included: Pets-first-Shauna Burton with her beloved goat, “Heather”, Toddlers- first-Ellie Everett-Baby Miss West Tennessee, second-Corbin Fowler and third-Lynnlea Camper; Walkers-first-Mary Smith, second- Autumn Houston and third-James Surratt; Battery Powered Vehicle-girls-division one-first-Addie and Ella Pugh, second-Emily Arnold and third-Annaka Townsend; Battery Powered Vehicle boys-division one-first-Jacob Powers, second-Jace Kelly and Jacks Church and third-Owen Nelson and Jaxson Barker; Bicycles- girls-first-Ella Reed, second- Claira Reed, third-Addie Ruth Reed and fourth-Gracie Wood; Bicycles-boys-first-Alex Caviness, second-Tyee Reed and third- Brooks Reed; Golf Cart-first-Molly Drewry; Four-Wheelers-girls-first-Kadi Martin; Four-Wheelers-boysfirst- Zac Fowler, second-Gunner Martin; Razor-youth-first-Hannah Fowler and Grace Coleman, second- Colton Hart, Hunter Lindsey and Kadie Lindsey, third-Ashton Worrell; Razor-adult-first-Kinsley, Kimmy and Jessica Newsome, Delana Pendergrass-second-Anthony Hilliard, third-Chase Coker; ATV-first-Ainsley Worrell, second- Mattie, Heather and Jonathan Martin; Groups-first-Kurz / Sartor family-Roger, Sandra, Melanie, Trista, Ainsley, Arwen, Blakeley and Natalie, second-Cherry family, third-McLemoresville Methodist Church Vacation Bible School; Auto-first-Johnny, Debbie, Trevor, Tyson, Tatym, Jordan, Wade and Paisley Keymon, Lexie Little and Dene Whitt, second-Terry Carroll and third-Cody Newsome; Horsesfirst- Clay Fowler with “Gus”, second- Sara Beth Smith, third-Dana Smith.

The hamburger stand was as popular as ever, serving “the best hamburgers in the world” to a nonstop crowd throughout the night. The Community Service Group also dished out homemade ice cream.

The cake walk featured a wide variety of delectable desserts for contest winners.

As darkness fell, the celebration concluded with a fireworks show.

Mayor Phil Williams extended thanks to the Carroll County Sheriff ’s Department for assisting in keeping the event safe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>