Home - ePopulate - Henry County Ballot Set

Henry County Ballot Set

Henry County Ballot Set


WENK/WTPR News Director

PARIS — The slate of candidates for local office contests at the August general election is all set, now that today’s filing deadline has passed.

In Henry County, there will be several races for county offices, not to mention a race for State Representative.

State Rep. Tim Wirgau, R-Paris, will face opposition from Bruce Griffey of Paris, who turned in his qualifying papers earlier this week; and Richard Carl of Paris.

Wirgau represents the 75th District, which covers Henry, Benton and Stewart Counties.

In other contested races, longtime Henry County Mayor Brent Greer will face opposition from Republican Garry Phillips. Greer is running as an Independent.

County Circuit Court Clerk Mike Wilson will face opposition from Republican Eddie Forrest. Forrest currently is a deputy with the Henry County Sheriff ’s Office. Wilson is running as an Independent and has served two terms as Court Clerk.

Also to be on the August general election ballot are: County commissioner, 1st district: Incumbents Don Jones, Wes Bradley, Randy Gean, all running as Independents. Deputy Ricky Wade had picked up a petition but said several weeks ago he decided not to run. Clint Diggs, who was selected as a candidate during the Republican caucus, withdrew his petition.

County commissioner, 2nd district: Incumbents Paul Neal, Drew Williams, Kreg Kyle, all running as Independents.

County commissioner, 3rd district: Incumbents Monte Starks, Marty Visser and Paul Mathenia, all running as Independents. Also running are Jerry Berry and Dennis Garcia, both Republicans, and Bill Bailey, Independent.

County commissioner, 4th district: Incumbents Dell Carter, Kenneth Humphreys and James Copeland, all running as Independents.

County commissioner, 5th district: Incumbents David Webb and Greg Carter, both Independents. Former county commissioner James Travis is running as an Independent. Long-time Commissioner Connie McSwain will not be running for another term.

Incumbent County Officials who are running without opposition are: Trustee Randi French; Sheriff Monte Belew; County Clerk Donna Craig; Register of Deeds Pam Martin.

Candidates for County School Board are: 2nd District: Incumbent Doug Braden and Josh Frey. Frey is a Lieutenant with the Paris Police Department.

4th District Incumbent Jim McCampbell.

Candidates for Paris Special Schools District board: Incumbents Amy Cathey, Bill Jelks, Jon Davidson.

Republican State Executive Committeewoman: Rebecca Griffey, Betsy Phillips.

Constables: first district, Incumbent Jason McCord; 2nd district Incumbent Chris Coley; 3rddistrict Incumbent Charles Jacques and Tom Bell and Adam Cursoy; 4th District, no candidate; 5th district Incumbent James Chappell.

The Election Commission will meet April 16 for a special session to qualify the list of candidates officially.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>