Home - ePopulate - Mustang Kade Pearson is Mr. Football Semifinalist

Mustang Kade Pearson is Mr. Football Semifinalist

Mustang Kade Pearson is Mr. Football Semifinalist



HERMITAGE (November 3) — Huntingdon Mustang senior and all-around threat Kade Pearson has been selected as one of five semifinalists for Division I, Class 1A Mr. Football.

The Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards will be presented to the top football players in nine Classifications of the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association on Monday, November 27, 2017, at Nissan

Photo by Brad Sam/The Banner Right, 2017 Mr. Football Semifinalist Kade Pearson. File photo Stadium in Nashville. For the 16th consecutive year, the top kicker in the state will be recognized with a Mr. Football Award, regardless of Classification.

Five semifinalists are announced in this release for each Classification and the Kicker of the Year category. There are six Classifications in Division I and three in Division II. Three finalists for each category will be announced by Mike Keith on the Titans website at www. titansonline.com on Monday, November 13 at 12:00 p.m. CST / 1:00 p.m. EST. The three finalists for each award will be the ones invited to attend the awards luncheon at Nissan Stadium, where the winner of each award will be announced.

Pearson led his team to a perfect 10-0 this season, and the Mustangs have lofty goals, if not expectations, in the TSSAA playoffs.

According to maxpreps.com, Pearson completed 37 of 68 pass attempts for 680 yards and 17 touchdowns with just three interceptions.

He rushed 119 times for 935 yards and a dozen touchdowns. He rushed for over 100 yards five times.

Pearson also had 58 total tackles on the season, 39 of those solo tackles. He had 14 tackles for a loss, including eight sacks.

In Friday’s playoff opener against the Fayetteville Tigers, Kade Pearson played opposite fellow Mr. Football semifinalist Brandon Moore. Pearson took Huntingdon’s first snap and ran right past Moore for a 32-yard touchdown. The Mustangs went on to dominate the Tigers, 64-14.

In a post-game interview with The Banner, Mustang Head Coach Eric Swenson said of his senior quarterback, “He’s a three-year starter on both sides of the ball. He can do it all. Kade’s just a football player. He’s a great kid on and off the field, and a high-character guy.”

Swenson noted that, given the lopsided nature of the majority of Huntingdon’s games this season, Pearson’s impressive statistics aren’t even as inflated as they could be, since he barely played past halftime all year.

A committee of statewide sports writers selected winners based on performance in the 2017 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration. High school head coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists.

“We are very excited and appreciative about being involved with the Tennessee Titans for the 11th consecutive year,” stated Bernard Childress, Executive Director of the TSSAA. “They have helped make the recognition of these 50 student- athletes, their families, and schools possible. The sponsorship of the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards and numerous contributions to high schools across the state since the team moved to Tennessee have meant a great deal to the member schools of the TSSAA.”

This is the 33rd year that the Mr. Football Awards have been presented to Tennessee’s best high school football players. A Mr. Football trophy will be presented to the winners of each category. A Mr. Football plaque will be presented to the other two finalists in each category. The other semi-finalists will each receive a certificate.

More than 400 people, including the 30 finalists, their families, coaches, school administrators and members of the media from all parts of the state, are expected to attend the 2017 luncheon.

Mike Keith, play-by-play voice of the Tennessee Titans, will emcee the awards presentation. A live videostream of the awards will be provided at www. titansonline. com.

2017 Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Semifinalists Division I, Class 1A Braxton Givens, Gordonsville Parker McKinney, Coalfield Brandon Moore, Fayetteville Kade Pearson, Huntingdon Garrett Raulston, South Pittsburg Division I, Class 2A Ethan Cobb, Eagleville Caleb D. Johnson, MAHS Jacob Saylors, Marion County Gavin Stanfield, Waverly Central Aaron Swafford, Meigs County Division I, Class 3A Kalyn Grandberry, Raleigh Egypt Calvin Jackson III, Red Bank Darius James, Fairview Woodrow Lowe III, Bolivar Central Jimmyrious Parker, Pearl Cohn Division I, Class 4A Cade Ballard, Greeneville Kamron Hightower-Liggett, Marshall County Stanton Martin, Anderson County Michael Jamahl McGhee, Chattanooga Central Dontae Smith, Spring Hill Division I, Class 5A Ty Boeck, Soddy-Daisy Tai Carter, Summit Jordan Davis, Southwind Kaemon Dunlap, Beech Cade Mays, Knoxville Catholic Division I, Class 6A Jeremy Banks, Cordova Savion Davis, Riverdale Dylan Hopkins, Maryville Carson Shacklett, Brentwood Jaylin Williams, Germantown Division II, Class A Da’Joun Hewitt, Davidson Academy Darius Hylick, Mt. Juliet Christian Brant Lawless, Nashville Christian Kemari McGowan, Middle Tennessee Christian Xavier Myers, Nashville Christian Division II, Class AA Morgan Ernst, Webb School of Knoxville Eric Gray, Lausanne Drew Martin, BGA Kane Patterson, CPA Cam Wynn, Notre Dame Division II, Class AAA Tyler Badie, Briarcrest Brendon Harris, Baylor Camron Johnson, Brentwood Academy Bill Norton, Christian Brothers Gavin Schoenwald, Brentwood Academy Kicker of the Year Gabe Boring, Bledsoe County Thomas Burks, Blackman Charles Campbell, USJ Noah Holsinger, Trinity Christian Aaron Sears, Oakland

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>