Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.

Carroll County Agenda Includes Committee Assignments, Electric Board Appointment


Carroll County Commission convenes Monday, September 10, 7:00 p.m. for its first meeting during the Mayor Joseph Butler administration. On Labor Day, the Resolutions Committee approved the agenda for the September 10 meeting.

Commissioner Paula Watkins, current chairman pro-tempore, will serve as chairman until commissioners select the new chairman, which has always been the county mayor for approximately the last 28 years.

In addition to committee assignments of commissioners, the commission will select a chairman and chairman pro-tempore, and vote on one resolution concerning the appointment to the Carroll County Electric Board.

Commissioner Lori Nolen has been recommended by Butler to serve as the County Commission’s representative to the Carroll County Electric Board. If appointed by the commission, she will replace Commissioner John Mann.

Nolen is a recent graduate of the Delta Regional Authority’s Leadership Institute. She participated in a 10-month Executive Academy, which helps further their skills in community leadership and policy development to promote regional collaboration and local economic growth across DRA’s eight-state region. The participants engaged in policy and program development, advocacy training, case-study discussions, and on-the-ground field experiences aligned with DRA’s priorities for the region.

The following are the proposed committee assignments for commissioners for one year beginning September 1, 2019. Butler said he left most committees essentially intact with some changes to balance the leadership amongst the commissioners. No one serves as chairman of more than one committee.

BUDGET COMMITTEE - Willie Huffman, Chairman, Johnny Blount, Secretary, Manuel Crossno, Darrell Ridgely, and Brian Winston

TAX RATE COMMITTEE - Vince Taylor, Chairman, John Austin, Secretary, Hal Eason, Johnny Blount, and

Bobby Argo.

LAW ENFORCEMENT COMMITTEE - Ronnie Murphy, Chairman, Hal Eason, Secretary, Vince Taylor, Jimmy McClure, and Joel Washburn.

DELINQUENT TAX COMMITTEE - Jimmy McClure, Chairman, Ronnie Murphy, Secretary, Randy Long, Steve Parker, Manuel Crossno, and Darrell Ridgely.

CIVIC CENTER COMMITTEE - Paula Watkins, Chairman, Jeremy Fowler, Secretary, Larry Spencer, Bobby Argo, Jeff Carter, and Lori Nolen.

RESOLUTIONS COMMITTEE - Larry Spencer, Chairman, Joel Washburn, Secretary, Manuel Crossno, John Mann, and Lori Nolen.

INSURANCE COMMITTEE - John Austin, Chairman, Larry Spencer, Secretary, Willie Huffman, Jimmy McClure, Lori Nolen, and Joel Washburn.

PURCHASING COMMITTEE - Jeff Carter, Chairman, Paula Bolen, Secretary, Darlene Kirk, Paula Watkins, Vince Taylor, and Joseph Butler.

HIGHWAY COMMITTEE - Johnny Blount, Chairman, Paula Reynolds, Secretary, John Mann, Vince Taylor, Jeremy Fowler, Brian Winston, and Ronnie Murphy.

BEER BOARD - Steve Parker, Chairman, Bobby Argo, Secretary, John Mann, John Austin, and Larry Spencer.

RURAL FIRE COMMITTEE - Darrell Ridgely, Chairman, Jimmy McClure, Secretary, Bobby Argo, Johnny Blount, Ronnie Murphy, and Jeremy Fowler.

RULES COMMITTEE - Joel Washburn, Chairman, Randy Long, Secretary, Gerald Scarbrough, Paula Watkins, and Hal Eason.

SOLID WASTE COMMITTEE - John Mann, Chairman, Gerald Scarbrough, Secretary, Jeff Carter, Brian Winston, John Austin, and Steve Parker.

PERSONNEL COMMITTEE - Gerald Scarbrough, Chairman, Manuel Crossno, Secretary, Willie Huffman, Paula Watkins, and Randy Long.

PROPERTIES COMMITTEE - Hal Eason, Chairman, Randy Long, Secretary, Brian Winston, Gerald Scarbrough, Willie Huffman, and Darrell Ridgely.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment