Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.

Liquor Store in Huntingdon, Municipal Elections on November Ballot


CARROLL COUNTY (August 16) — The November 6 ballot is now set and includes a referendum for retail package liquor stores in Huntingdon and candidates in municipal elections in the county. The qualifying deadline was noon Thursday, August 16.

The petition for a referendum on retail package stores was picked up by Jeffery Pendergrass and received the necessary 86 registered voters from the Town of Huntingdon.

In McKenzie, Mayor Jill Holland will run unopposed as well as Jason Martin, Councilman Ward II, and newcomers Bobby Young, seeking the council seat for Ward V, and Brian Winston, seeking the council seat for Ward II. Winston was recently also elected as a county commissioner for District 8. If elected in McKenzie, he will serve in both positions. Holland is seeking her third four-year term and Martin is presently filling the unexpired term of David Hochreiter, who moved outside the municipal city limits. Councilmen Gene Hale and Cassie Allen did not seek re-election.

In Huntingdon, three at-large council seats are on the ballot. Kelly Barnett Eubanks, Andrew Maddox, and Haywood Melton are newcomers on the ballot while John Sanders is seeking re-election.

Former Bruceton and McKenzie policeman Frank McGee, and Jenna Nunamaker Young are seeking to unseat Bruceton Mayor Robert Keeton, III. McGee was terminated from employment as a police officer in Bruceton, was employed by McKenzie Police Department and then accepted a position as an deputy on the Carroll County Sheriff’s Department. McGee was elected as a Bruceton alderman and now is seeking to ascend to the top office in the city.

In other positions in Bruceton, Joey Simmons, James A. Butler, Chris Cole, Hector Ortiz, and Joey Simmons are seeking the two offices of aldermen.

In Atwood, a mayor and two aldermen will be elected. Mayor James Halford is seeking re-election, and Jim Lewis and L.N. McNabb, Jr. are seeking the two aldermen seats.

In Trezevant, three aldermen are to be elected. Pam Joyner is the lone one who qualified.

In McLemoresville, Tennessee’s longest serving mayor Phil Williams is the lone candidate for mayor. Five aldermen seats are available. Don Reed, Shirley Carroll, Melanie English, Angie Martin, Corinne Massey, and Lana Suite have qualified.

In Hollow Rock, a mayor and two aldermen will be elected. Alderman Rob Woods has qualified for the mayor’s seat. Qualifying for the aldermen’s seat are Bobby Brotherton, Dewayne Ervin, Michael A. Smith, Angela Stockdale.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment