Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.

MHS Beta Club Inducts 42 New Members

Posted 10/15/19

McKENZIE (October 6) — Parents, teachers and current Beta Club members gathered in the McKenzie High School Theatre Sunday afternoon to officially induct 42 new member into the …

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

MHS Beta Club Inducts 42 New Members


McKENZIE (October 6) — Parents, teachers and current Beta Club members gathered in the McKenzie High School Theatre Sunday afternoon to officially induct 42 new member into the club.

Parliamentarian Isabella Colotta called the ceremony to order, and President Braxton Hobson welcomed all. Vice President Nathan Rorer led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Secretary Lydsey Summers, Treasurer Jackey Zheng and Reporter Will Gallimore spoke about the National Beta Club and its mission and vision. Rorer, Colotta and Summers explained the significance of the Beta Emblem.

Zheng, Gallimore, Rorer and Hobson then recited the Beta Club Creed, which highlights the principles of honesty, justice, service, cooperation, responsibility, industriousness, humility and charity.

At the point in the program where the president would normally introduce the guest speaker, Hobson said that the club “decided to do something different this year,” and asked Kevin Gallimore to come to the stage.

Before accepting a position this year at Jackson State Community College, Gallimore was a teacher at MHS for 23 years and a Beta sponsor for eleven years. He was presented a plaque in appreciation for his service to the club and spoke briefly. “Beta has had a huge role in my life for the last several years,” he said. He expressed his pride in the inductees and implored the current members to inspire the younger ones.

He added, “I’ve seen the Beta Club do some wonderful things. I know you will get the best out of this club.”

The ceremony continued with the candle-lighting ceremony. Hobson lit the white candle, which signifies light, purity and faith. Rorer lit the red candle, which signifies pure love, wisdom and bravery. Summers lit the blue candle, which signifies truth, constancy and fidelity. Zheng lit the black candle, which signifies dignity, restraint and seriousness. Will Gallimore lit the gold candle, which signifies warmth, friendship and faithfulness.

Rorer lit an extra candle, baby blue, in honor of Chris Rogers. Rogers was a National Beta Representative from Alabama who befriended Rorer at a Leadership Summit in Washington, D.C. He was killed in an automobile accident in August, and Rorer, Hobson and sponsor Lizz Gonzalez attended Rogers’ funeral.

The McKenzie club designed its club trading pin in his honor. Clubs design and enter pins into competition at the state convention. Each member gets one pin to keep and another to trade with members from other schools at the convention. Each members of Rogers’ club will also receive the pin.

Rorer said the baby blue candle (Rogers’ favorite color) was to “remind us to always lead by serving others and leave a positive impact.”

Next, sponsors Gonzalez and Gina Pate led the inductees in the Pledge of Membership. Certificates were awarded to each inductee by Principal Kelly Spivey, Pate, Hobson and Rorer.

Spivey then delivered the Principal’s Challenge. He encouraged inductees to live the club’s pillars of character, service and leadership and also challenged family members. “Support your students. Help them be the best they can be.”

Finally, Colotta closed the ceremony and welcomed guests to enjoy refreshments in the lobby.

Inductees included: senior Desteyana Allen; juniors Kandice Ward and Lydia Warren; and sophomores Emma Barnett, Jaden Barton, Wynter Baucum, Gracie Blount, Wesley Bynum, Shannan Cheney, Andrew Cole, Trey Cook, Dharma Dutton, Dani Dyer, Will Essary, Sydney Fornera, Bethany Gallimore, Taylor Hall, Jonah Hampton, Hayden Hudson, Raina Jones, Zayden McCaslin, Collin McLearen and Madison Minard, Olivia Nolin, Sadie O’Brien, Duane Patrick, Andrew Pershell, Garrett Pettingill, Meya Prather, Claire Price, Blair Putman, Rhilee Roberson, Anna Robinson, Anna Grace Spivey, Natalie Stephens, Ashlyn Swinea, Rachel Umstead, Connor Viana, Juleyanne Weatherford, Landon Winchester, Hadley Woodruff and Isabelle Wright.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment