Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.

Election Commission Certifies November 3 Election

by Joel Washburn washburn@mckenziebanner.com
Posted 12/2/20

HUNTINGDON (November 23) — It’s official. The November 3 elections in Carroll County were certified by the Carroll County Election Commission for the national, state and local political …

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Election Commission Certifies November 3 Election


HUNTINGDON (November 23) — It’s official. The November 3 elections in Carroll County were certified by the Carroll County Election Commission for the national, state and local political contests.

Peg Hamlett, election administrator, told commissioners the voter turnout was over 70 percent of the registered voters. Approximately 12,000 voters cast ballots, of those, approximately 8,000 were early votes and 700 were absentee. There were 11 certified write-in candidates.

Commissioners attending were Michael Corrado, Ron Reiter, and Nellie Hale. Absent were Billy J. Smith and Julia Blanks.

All results went unchallenged, making the certification process much simpler.

In a possibly unprecedented situation, the McKenzie municipal election for the three aldermen seats had only one candidate and two write-ins. The lone candidate on the ballot, Debbie Riley, died just days prior to the election. Two incumbents, Charles Pruneau and Jessie Townes won as write-in candidates after both failed to meet the deadline for qualifying. Townes received 21 write-in votes and Pruneau, 14. Riley received 346.

Liquor-by-the-drink was approved 1,132 to 559 in the Town of Huntingdon. It clears the way for city officials to set regulations for restaurants to serve mixed drinks in addition to beer, which was already approved.

In the Presidential race, 11,905 persons voted. Donald Trump (R) received 9,205 and Joe Biden (D) received 2,559. The other 12 candidates received the remaining votes. Nationwide, Joe Biden won the election.

U.S. Senate had 11,441 votes with Bill Hagerty (R) receiving 8,899 and Marquita Bradshaw (D) receiving 2,286. The other 11 candidates received the remaining votes. Hagerty won statewide.

In the U.S. House of Representatives race, incumbent David Kustoff (R) received 8,888 and Erika Pearson (D) received 2,196. Two independent candidates, Jon Dillard received 109 and James Hart, 158. Hart is the man who stands on the street corner in Paris waving signs, often racist in nature.

Tennessee Senate District 24 was won by incumbent John Stevens (R). Yahweh Yahweh (I) received 1,355. Stevens won reelection in his multi-county district.

Tennessee House District 76 was won by newcomer Tandy Darby (R) with 3,756 to Jeff Washburn’s (I) 1,166. Darby won the election in the three-county district.

Tennessee House District 79 was won by incumbent Curtis Halford (R) with 5,534 over write-in candidate Houston Butler, Jr., 2. Halford won the election in his district.

Atwood elected Ricky Long 271 and Mike Tolley 222 for aldermen. Taylor Coulter was unsuccessful with 162 votes.

Bruceton elected three aldermen. They were Cliff Sturdivant with 446 votes, Robert Higdon with 437 and Chris Cole with 425.

Hollow Rock elected two aldermen. No candidate qualified for the third seat. Elected were Curt Lumley with 206 and Morris Rogers with 214.

Huntingdon reelected its incumbents. Mayor Dale Kelley was unopposed and received 1,438 votes. Councilmen Carl Byars received 1,227 votes, Charles Hodges 1,265, Nina Smothers 1,252 and Tim Tucker, 1,197.

In Trezevant, all incumbents were elected. Bobby Blaylock won the mayor’s race with 246 votes. Write-in candidate Bobby McAlexander received 3 votes. Aldermen candidates were Robert Argo with 217 votes, Christy Creyssels 192, and Leon Lyell with 194. The two who received the most votes will serve a four-year term. The lowest of the three will serve a two-year term.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment