Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.

McKenzie High School Beta Club Inducts 39 New Members

By Brad Sam brad@mckenziebanner.com
Posted 11/18/20

McKENZIE (November 1) — The McKenzie High School Beta Club welcomed 39 new members Sunday afternoon in the annual Induction Ceremony in the high school theatre.Parliamentarian A.J. Murphy …

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

McKenzie High School Beta Club Inducts 39 New Members


McKENZIE (November 1) — The McKenzie High School Beta Club welcomed 39 new members Sunday afternoon in the annual Induction Ceremony in the high school theatre.

Parliamentarian A.J. Murphy called the ceremony to order, and President Will Gallimore welcomed all. Vice President Lyndsey Summers led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Secretary Lauren Mansfield, Treasurer Anna Grace Spivey and Reporter Madison Minard spoke about the National Beta Club and its mission and vision. Summers, Murphy and Mansfield explained the significance of the Beta Emblem.

Spivey, Minard, Summers and Gallimore then recited the Beta Club Creed, which highlights the principles of honesty, justice, service, cooperation, responsibility, industriousness, humility and charity.

Next, Gallimore introduced guest speaker Vicki Hoover, Chancellor of the 24th Judicial District. A Savannah native, she served as a judge in Henry and Big Sandy and practiced law for 28 years prior to her election as chancellor. She is a member of the Bethel University Board of Trustees.

Chancellor Hoover credited the inductees for their hard work and encouraged them to “keep on that path” and navigate the obstacles in their way.

She spoke of a metaphorical bucket with which everyone is born and which becomes filled by parents, other family members, teachers and friends with values and habits that they may or may not want. She implored the students to be mindful of what they choose to keep in their buckets.

Hoover concluded with a poem, “The Touch of Master’s Hand” by Myra Brooks Welch.

The event continued with the candle-lighting ceremony.

Gallimore lit the white candle, which signifies light, purity and faith.

Summers lit the red candle, which signifies pure love, wisdom and bravery.

Mansfield lit the blue candle, which signifies truth, constancy and fidelity.

Spivey lit the black candle, which signifies dignity, restraint and seriousness.

Minard lit the gold candle, which signifies warmth, friendship and faithfulness.

Beta sponsors Gina Pate and Traci Lunn addressed the inductees and administered the Pledge of Membership. Each inductee was presented a certificate.

Principal Kelly Spivey delivered the Principal’s Challenge. He said he hoped the inductees listened to the words of the club’s mission and took them to heart. He noted academics are just a qualifier and a gateway to Beta, but that the other pillars, such as character, service and leadership, are just as important. He challenged each of the students to live up to the motto “be of good character, be a servant,” to be vigilant with their academics, to find a good leader and to contribute to the club.

Murphy officially closed the event and invited all to enjoy refreshments in the lobby.

Inductees included junior Carson Burke and sophomores Zach Aird, Briley Auvenshine, Ian Barker, Brice Becerra, Braden Birmingham, Kristin Bradberry, Kassidy Brown, Ashlyn Burnine, Austin Bush, Jesse Calderon, Jackson Cassidy, David Cheney, Katie Chesser, Brianna Dalrymple, Hannah Dillingham, Jimmie Fitzgerald, Alajah Gilbert, Amya Gilbert, Makia Halliburton, Autumn Hawks, Bryant Haynes, Gracie Henderson, Sophie Hilliard, Allie Laser, Lauren Laser, Daniel Latimer, Payton Ognibene, Anna Patel, Nathan Price, Nolan Renfro, Kylie Reynolds, Dylan Richardson, Grace Seiber, Kattie Sisemore, Bryson Steele, Lexie Sullivan, Lilly Sumrok, Yajaira Vega and Maggie Walker.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment